Senate GOP Leaderships Stays the Same

Republican majority leaders in the state Senate will stay the same as none of the current team was challenged by other members of their party.

Sen. Robert Stivers, R-Manchester, remains the Senate President; Sen. David Givens, R-Greensburg, will remain Senate President Pro Tempore; Sen. Damon Thayer, R-Georgetown, holds his position as Senate Majority Leader; Sen. Julie Raque Adams, R-Louisville, keeps her position as caucus chair, and Sen. Mike Wilson, R-Bowling Green, remains the majority whip.

Members of leadership of the majority and minority parties have specific roles in their caucuses as defined in the state Constitution. Leadership members also serve as members of the Legislative Research Commission. The Senate President and Speaker of the House act as co-chairs of the LRC.

Stivers has serve as the president of the senate since 2012. In the role, he is the presiding officer of the Senate. Stivers rules on motions and signs or enrolls legislation. He also has considerable influence over committee assignments and can serve on top committees.

Republicans head into the January 30-day “short” session of the legislature with 31 of the 38 seats in the chamber. Democrats hold 7 seats with one expected vacancy as Sen. Morgan McGarvey, D-Louisville, won election to Congress in the 3rd Congressional District.