Senate Democrats Elect Gerald Neal as Minority Floor Leader

In a unanimous vote held on Thursday, Sen. Gerald Neal, D-Louisville, was elected Senate Democratic floor leader.

Neal will lead the smallest Democratic caucus to date into the upcoming legislative session on Tues. Jan. 3.

The 77-year old state Senate Democrat has held elected office in the upper chamber since 1989. Neal replaces state Sen. Morgan McGarvey, D-Louisville, who has submitted his resignation from the state Senate effective Jan. 2, as he was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in November.

Sen. Reginald Thomas, D-Lexington, was also elected as the Democratic Caucus chair, and Sen. David Yates, D-Louisville, was elected as minority whip.  

The legislature will convene for the 2023 legislative session at noon Tuesday, Jan. 3 for a brief organizational session, which will conclude Friday, Jan. 6. Legislators will return to Frankfort Tuesday, Feb. 7, to continue the 2023 legislative session.