Louisville Mayor-Elect Craig Greenberg Names Barbara Sexton Smith Deputy Mayor

Craig Greenberg is announcing his senior leadership team that includes numerous familiar names as he prepares to take over the administration of the city of Louisville.

Greenberg is tapping a former high ranking member of his campaign team and former city council member Barbara Sexton Smith as his Deputy Mayor, Councilwoman Nicole George as deputy mayor of public health and services, and Council President David James as deputy mayor of emergency services.

“A new direction requires a new structure to more effectively and efficiently serve our
community. I am thrilled to announce this incredible group of people who will help lead our city,” said Mayor Elect Greenberg. “This diverse group of highly motivated and dedicated individuals will run the day-to-day operations of our city government. Together, they have the sense of urgency, commitment to transparency, and experience we need to make our city safer, stronger and healthier. We’re ready to get to work for the people of Louisville.”

● Barbara Sexton Smith, Deputy Mayor
Barbara will serve as Deputy Mayor pursuant to KRS 67C.105, will oversee new
offices focusing on some of the Administration’s priorities, and will serve as a key
● Nicole George, Deputy Mayor, Public Health & Services
Nicole will oversee the Public Health Department and Public Works, among other
● David James, Deputy Mayor, Emergency Services
David will oversee the Louisville Fire Department, Corrections, EMS and other
● Dana Mayton, Deputy Mayor, Operations & Budget
Dana will oversee the Office of Management and Budget, Human Resources,
and several other departments.
● David Kaplan, Chief of Staff & General Counsel
● Keisha Dorsey, Deputy Chief of Staff

As announced last week, Interim Chief of Police Jackie Gwinn-Villaroel will report directly to
Mayor Elect Greenberg and will also be a member of the Senior Leadership Team.

Greenberg will be sworn in as Louisville’s 51st Mayor on January 2nd, 2023.