House Committee Chairs announced as lawmakers prepare for 2023 Regular Session

News Release – As members of the Kentucky House of Representatives prepare to convene the 2023 Regular Session on January 3, today House Speaker David Osborne and members of House Majority Leadership released an updated list of committee chairs and co-chairs.

“This is a tremendously talented group of individuals who are well-prepared to take the lead on these issues. I’m grateful that they are willing to serve our Commonwealth and look forward to continuing our efforts to make Kentucky an even better place to call home,” Osborne said. “This is not only a major time commitment, but a demanding role that requires they use their experience and expertise to craft solid, intentional policies that benefit all Kentuckians.”

House standing committees meet while the legislature is in session to deliberate the issues under consideration. Each committee has jurisdiction over the issues in specific subject matter. All legislation must go through the committee process before being considered by the full House. 2023 House standing committee chairs and vice chairs include:

Agriculture – Rep. Richard Heath, Chair and Rep. Dan Fister, Vice Chair

Appropriations and Revenue – Rep. Jason Petrie, Chair and Rep. Brandon Reed, Vice Chair

Budget Review Subcommittee on Economic Development, Public Protection, Tourism, and Energy – Rep. Chris Fugate, Chair

Budget Review Subcommittee on General Government – Rep. Chris Freeland, Chair

Budget Review Subcommittee on Health and Family Services – Rep. Danny Bentley, Chair

Budget Review Subcommittee on Justice, Public Safety, and Judiciary – Rep. Patrick Flannery, Chair

Budget Review Subcommittee on Personnel, Public Retirement, and Finance – Rep. Ken Fleming, Chair

Budget Review Subcommittee on Postsecondary Education – Rep. Bobby McCool, Chair

Budget Review Subcommittee on Primary and Secondary Education and Workforce Development – Rep. Kim Banta, Chair

Budget Review Subcommittee on Transportation – Rep. Ken Upchurch, Chair

Banking and Insurance – Rep. Michael Meredith, Chair and Rep. Matt Lockett, Vice Chair, and Rep. Sarge Pollock, Vice Chair

Economic Development and Workforce Investment – Rep. Russell Webber, Chair and Representative Josh Branscum, Vice Chair

Education – Rep. James Tipton, Chair, Representative Timmy Truett, Vice Chair, and Representative Shane Baker, Vice Chair

Elections, Constitutional Amendments and Intergovernmental Affairs – Rep. Kevin Bratcher, Chair and Rep. Josh Calloway, Vice Chair

Enrollment – Rep. Thomas Huff, Chair

Health – Rep. Kim Moser, Chair and Rep. Ryan Dotson, Vice Chair

Family Services – Rep. Samara Heavrin, Chair and Rep. Steve Riley, Vice Chair

Judiciary – Rep. Daniel Elliott, Chair and Rep. Jennifer Henson Decker, Vice Chair

Licensing, Occupations, and Administrative Regulations – Rep. Matt Koch, Chair and Rep. Tom O’Dell Smith, Vice Chair

Local Government – Rep. Randy Bridges, Chair and Rep. Josh Bray, Vice Chair

Natural Resources and Energy – Rep. Jim Gooch, Chair, Rep. Bill Wesley, Vice Chair, and Rep. Richard White, Vice Chair

Small Business and Information Technology – Rep. Phillip Pratt, Chair and Rep. William Lawrence, Vice Chair

State Government – Rep. David Hale, Chair and Rep. Mary Beth Imes, Vice Chair

Tourism and Outdoor Recreation – Rep. Kim King, Chair and Rep. Shawn McPherson, Vice Chair

Transportation – Rep. John Blanton, Chair and Rep. Jonathan Dixon, Vice Chair

Veterans, Military Affairs, and Public Protection – Rep. Walker Thomas, Chair and Rep. Scott Sharp, Vice Chair

Statutory committees are authorized to meet throughout the year to provide oversight and probe specific issue areas. Membership of these panels is comprised of both House and Senate members. House statutory committee leadership includes:

Administrative Regulation Review Subcommittee – Rep. Derek Lewis, Chair

Capital Planning Advisory Board – Rep. Nancy Tate, Chair

Capital Projects and Bond Oversight – Rep. Deanna Frazier Gordon, Chair

Commission on Race and Access to Opportunity – Rep. Killian Timoney, Chair

Education Assessment and Accountability Review Subcommittee – Rep. Scott Lewis, Chair

Government Contract Review – Rep. Mark Hart, Chair

Legislative Oversight and Investigations – Rep. Adam Bowling, Chair

Public Pension Oversight Board – Rep. DJ Johnson, Chair

Tobacco Settlement Agreement Fund Oversight Committee – Rep. Myron Dossett, Chair

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, a committee chair “serves as the parliamentary head of a committee. The chair sets the committee’s agenda, determining when—or in many states, whether—bills will be considered.”

The Kentucky Constitution provides that lawmakers convene on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in January of each year. In odd-numbered years, the legislature meets for 30 legislative days. Kentuckians can keep up to date with the legislature by visiting or following @KYHouseGOP on Facebook, Twitter, and most major social media outlets.